Argyll and Bute Council

OBAN LORN & THE ISLES LOCAL AREA COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP

Customer Services

14 September 2011

Community Council By - Elections

1 Summary

This report provides information on the recent Community Council By-Elections.

2 Recommendation

To note the contents of this report.

3 Background

A review of the Scheme of Community Councils in Argyll & Bute was undertaken in 2008 and implemented in April 2009.

The first elections for all 56 Community Councils were held in October 2009 where 54 of the Community Councils were constituted.

Further by-elections were held in December 2009 and March and October 2010 to fill the remaining vacancies. Following that all Community Councils were written to in July 2011 to enquire whether they wanted their remaining vacancies to be filled by running further By-Elections. The publication of the Notice of Election was advertised in the local papers and published on the Councils website on week beginning 1 August with the close of nominations being on Thursday 18 August 2011.

4 Oban, Lorn and the Isles

Mull - 4 vacancies

Iona - 3 vacancies

Coll – 1 vacancy

Oban – 14 vacancies

Glenorchy & Innishail – 4 vacancies

Avich & Kilchrenan – 6 vacancies

Luing – 2 vacancies

Kilninver & Kilmelford – 4 vacancies

Seil & Easdale – 1 vacancy

Dunbeg – 4 vacancies

Lismore - 3 vacancies

Ardchattan - 7 vacancies

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, no

contests for the Oban, Lorn & the Isles Area were required. As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Oban Stewart McIver, Andrew M Harper, Sean MacIntyre, Jessie

MacFarlane, Andrew I Waugh, Alexandra Russell, Mandy J

Peden, June Anfield (8)

Glenorchy & Innishail Florence A Marshall, Martin Goodwin (2)

Avich & Kilchrenan Vinh Burton Smith, Peta Burton Smith, Iain R Alexander, John

L Fleming, Veronica CK Metcalfe (5)

Kilninver & Kilmelford Peter J Hammick, Lucy Files, Stuart G Cannon (3)

Ardchattan Margaret A Adams, Lachie Strathern, Iain S MacLean (3)

Shirley MacLeod Area Governance Manager

20 August 2011